Our Home’s History
Down East Comfort B&B is located in one of Miramichi’s finest Queen Anne style home and located among others from its era. The home was built in the early 20th century in 1903 by wood merchant Mr. John Miller and was the home of the well known Creaghan family for several generations. The home has undergone high quality restoration by the previous owners and reinstating this unique historic property back to its former glory. It is now owned by the Fulton’s and operating as Down East Comfort Bed and Breakfast.
The home has many features including beautiful oak inlaid hardwood floors, stained glass windows, brass lamppost stairway, original fireplace with cast iron panels, high ceilings with moldings and cornices in all rooms and featuring a living room chandelier from the former Parliament building in Fredericton. It was also known to be the first home in Newcastle (now city of Miramichi) to have electricity.
The home is located within walking distance to Miramichi River, downtown Newcastle shopping district, restaurants and pubs, Ritchie Warf, Strawberry March Conservation area. The property is a short drive to French Fort Cove Park, Middle Island, Beaubears Island, salmon and fly fishing, golf course, cross country ski trails, and other great areas within Miramichi.